TYPE DESIGN INFORMATION PAGE last updated on Sun Jan 19 00:40:44 EST 2020






Type competitions


22nd Annual TDC Type Design Competition (2019)

International typeface competition in 2019 organized by the Type Directors Club in New York. The judges are Tobias Frere-Jones, Nicole Dotin, Kristyan Sarkis and Erin McLaughlin. The deadline is past. Winners will be announced in the Spring of 2019. [Google] [More]  ⦿

Mashrebiya Font Competition (Khatt Foundation)

In 2017, the Khatt Foundation is launching a type design competition for fonts specifically designed to produce modern Mashrebiya architectural screens. [The Mashrebiya screen is an iconic element of Arab/Islamic architecture. Mashrebiyas are still popular as separation screens or walls, however they are often constructed from complex geometrical parts and shapes, and rarely using only letters.] Each award winner will be paid 1000 Euros. The jury consists of Yara Khoury Nammour, Pascal Zoghbi, and Edo Smitshuijzen. [Google] [More]  ⦿

Mon Pote

Mon Pote stands for Most Original Nincompoop Prize Of the Trump Era. Started in November 2016, it is given annually, during Trump's tenure, to the best new typeface related to the most intelligent president in history. The jury is presided by Luc Devroye, whose office is accepting nominations all year long. The awards are given in November of each year. The winner is expected to donate to the Canadian Narcissism Society, the Grab That Puppy Association, or Club Med Guantanamo. The list of winners:

[Google] [More]  ⦿

Ninth Founder Type Design Competition

This is the ninth competition organized (in 2017) by the Chinese type foundry Founder Type. the first one was held in 2001. Awards are given in the Latin and Chinese categories. Information file. [Google] [More]  ⦿

TDC Type Directors Club's Type Design Competition 2020

International typeface competition in 2020 organized by the Type Directors Club in New York. The judges are Maria Doreuli, Laura Meseguer, Greg Gazdowicz and Wael Morcos. [Google] [More]  ⦿

TDC66: The 66st Annual Type Directors Club Competition

International competition in 2020 that recognizes excellence in communication design, including the use of typography, calligraphy, handlettering and other letterforms in advertising, books, calendars, catalogs, corporate identity, editorials, exhibits, signage, architecture, logos, packaging, posters and apparel. The typeface competition chair is Juan Villanueva. Deadline: December 13, 2019. [Google] [More]  ⦿

The 5th Hiii Typography Design Competition

The Hiii Typography Design Competition is an international type design competition. The deadline for the 2019 competition is March 31. Organized by Hillibrand Inc, it has been held from 2013 to 2016. The 2019 type competition's jury consists of Hideki Nakajima, Sammy Or, Veronika Burian, Robin Hui, and Juan Villanueva. There are two type design categories, one for Latin and one for Chinese. [Google] [More]  ⦿

Third Type Design Contest of Hanyi Font Star

Chinese type competition organized by Hanyi Font with three categories: Chinese Text, Chinese Display, Latin (for use with a set of given Hanyi fonts). The fonts should be designed after March 2016 and before March 2018, the deadline for submissions. The judging will take place in April 2018.

The judges: Xuefeng Bi (Professor of China Academy of Art, Associate Dean of Design Art College), Osamu Torinoumi (Japanese type designer, President of Jiyukobo Ltd), Li Qi (Chinese type designer, Chief Designer of Qihei family of Hanyi), Rong Chen (Chief of Visual Communication and Information Department, Shanghai Institute of Visual Arts (SIVA), Chief Creative Director of Qinwei Design), Min Wang (Deputy Director of the Academic Committee of the Central Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA)), Sang-soo Ahn (Korean graphic designer, Head of PaTI (Paju Typography Institute)), Zhiwei Zhu (Chinese type designer, Artistic Consultant of Hanyi Font), Yong Wu (Professor, Director of the Department of Graphic Design, Cheung Kong School of Art and Design), Yiyuan Ma (Chief Operating Officer of Hanyi Font). [Google] [More]  ⦿

Tokyo Type Directors Club TDC 2020

Created in 1987 along the model of the New York Type Directors Club, and led by Katsumi Asaba, the Tokyo Type Directors Club organizes an annual type competition. Archive of the outcomes of the Tokyo TDC Annual Awards. The type design jury for TDC 2020: Shigenobu Fujita, Ryoko Nishizuka, Osamu Torinoumi, Qiu Yin. [Google] [More]  ⦿